Monday, August 21, 2017

Watch Live: The Transcontinental Total Solar Eclipse 21-08-17


On Monday, August 21, 2017, a total solar eclipse will be visible within a band across the entire contiguous United States, passing from the Pacific to the Atlantic coast. In other countries it will only be visible as a partial eclipse.

A solar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes between Earth and the Sun, thereby totally or partly obscuring the image of the sun for a viewer on Earth. A total solar eclipse occurs when the moon's apparent diameter is larger than the sun's, blocking all direct sunlight, turning day into darkness. Totality occurs in a narrow path across Earth's surface, with the partial solar eclipse visible over a surrounding region thousands of kilometers wide.
The last time a total solar eclipse was visible across the entire contiguous United States was during the June 8, 1918, eclipse, and not since the February 1979 eclipse has a total eclipse been visible from anywhere in the mainland United States. The path of totality will touch 14 states, although a partial eclipse will be visible in all fifty states. The total area of the path of totality will be about 16% of the area of the United States, although most of this area is over the ocean and not actually over the United States. The event's shadow will begin to cover land on the Oregon coast as a partial eclipse at 4:06 p.m. UTC (9:06 a.m. PDT) on August 21, and its land coverage will end later that day as a partial eclipse along the South Carolina coast at about 6:44 p.m. UTC (2:44 p.m. EST). Visibility as a partial eclipse in Honolulu, Hawaii will begin with sunrise at 4:20 p.m. UTC (6:20 a.m. HST) and end by 5:25 p.m. UTC (7:25 a.m. HST).

Live transmission starts in:

No comments:

Or comment from facebook

Popular Posts